Become a member

Get the best offers and updates relating to Liberty Case News.

― Advertisement ―


San Francisco-bound Air India Flight From Delhi Diverted To Russia Due To Technical Reason – News18

News18 Last Updated: July 18, 2024, 23:22 ISTThe aircraft has landed safely at Krasnoyarsk International Airport (UNKL) in Russia.(Representational Image)We are working...
HomeGlobal NewsSmriti Irani, three other former Union ministers vacate official bungalows in Lutyens'...

Smriti Irani, three other former Union ministers vacate official bungalows in Lutyens’ Delhi | India News – Times of India

TOI News Desk

NEW DELHI: Four former Union ministers, including Smriti Irani, have vacated their official bungalows in Lutyens’ Delhi, PTI sources confirmed on Thursday.
The reshuffling of accommodations come after the formation of the new government, necessitating the reallocation of official residences to the newly appointed ministers.
A high-level meeting was convened to discuss the allotment of bungalows to the new ministers.According to sources, Union housing and urban affairs minister Manohar Lal is likely to be allotted the 3, Krishna Menon Marg bungalow, previously occupied by former Union agriculture minister Narendra Singh Tomar.
The directorate of estates under the housing and urban affairs (HUA) ministry is responsible for allotting government bungalows to Union ministers. This department has been active in redistributing residences to align with the new government’s requirements.
Smriti Irani, former women and child development minister, vacated her official bungalow at 28 Tughlak Crescent earlier this week.
This move comes weeks after her defeat in the Amethi parliamentary seat by Congress leader Kishori Lal Sharma, with a margin exceeding 1.5 lakh votes.
Irani, who was hailed as a giant slayer in 2019 for defeating Congress leader Rahul Gandhi from the same seat, has now relinquished her residence following the electoral outcome.
“She (Irani) vacated her official residence earlier this week,” an official said, emphasizing the protocol that former ministers and MPs must vacate their government accommodation within a month of the new government’s formation.
Manohar Lal, whose ministry oversees the allocation of bungalows to Union ministers, was sworn in as a cabinet minister last month. Union ministers are entitled to Type VIII bungalows in Lutyens’ Delhi, a privilege reflecting their status and responsibilities.
With the one-month mark since the new government’s formation now passed, the directorate of estates is set to issue notices to former ministers, prompting them to vacate their government accommodations. This step ensures the seamless transition of housing to accommodate the newly appointed ministers.

Source link