All About E-pay Tax Feature with Online Payment Procedure


Share post:

Arpit Kulshrestha

With the new technology upgradation, the income tax department would upgrade its systems and the assessee in the country could pay their tax online through their homes or offices. Through the start of the e-pay tax feature, the council would incur the process easier.

The same utility would support the assessees to incur their payments via the internet through the use of the net-banking utilities. The assessees could incur the payment in 2 distinct ways. The first method is the regular way of posting via challan at banks, and the other is the e-payment of income tax.

e-Tax Online Payment Eligibility for Taxpayers

All the assessee who secures an online banking account with the authorized bank could pay their taxes excluding any physical appearance in the bank. But the IT council would merely authorize some public and private sector banks to accept the e-payment of income taxes.

The State Bank of India, Axis Bank, ICICI Bank, Bank of Baroda, Bank of Maharashtra, and HDFC Bank would be counted among 20 banks that are being authorized to obtain the online e-payment of their taxes.

Steps to E-Payment Online Tax on NSDL Portal

Step 1. For making your online tax e-payment, proceed to

Login NSDL Portal

Step 2. Proceed to the ‘Services’ option and then tap on it. A drop-down menu would emerge, choose the ‘e-payment: pay tax online‘ option from it.

E-Payment Pay Tax Online

Step 3. Choose related challan i.e. ITNS 280, ITNS 281, ITNS 282, ITNS 283, ITNS 284, or Form 26 QB demand payment (merely for TDS on the property sale) under applicability.

Choose Related Challan

Step 4. Post choosing the precise challan option you shall redirect to the screen to proceed in the mentioned data: PAN for non-TDS payments, Name and address details of the taxpayer, Year of Assessment, Major head code, Minor head code, Type of payment and option to choose the bank.

Challan Information

Step 5. Post-furnishing the needed data tap on the proceed button and all the entries you incur would be shown for you to validate.

Step 6. Validate the information which you have entered and then edit when you seek to revise any filled information.

Post Furnishing Data

Read Also: Challan 280: Online & Offline Income Tax Payment for Self Assessment

Step 7. Tap on the ‘submit’ button, which shall redirect you to the online banking page of the selected bank.

Submit Select Challan

Step 8. You are required to fill in your login id and password for online banking. Enter the tax amount you want to pay.

Step 9. After paying the tax payment, that amount would get deducted via your bank account and the bank website would be shown the confirmation receipt page for you to print.

Select Bank for Online Payment

Step 10. Tap on the print option to obtain a hard copy of the statement or save the same on your desktop.

Download Challan Copy

How to Use the e-Pay Tax Feature on the Income Tax Portal?

The income tax e-filing portal now allows taxpayers to pay their taxes electronically via using the e-Pay tax feature. The portal is giving several options to do tax payments through debit/credit cards, net banking, UPI, etc. As part of its efforts to simplify the Income Tax Return (ITR) filing process, the Income Tax Department has taken many steps in the past few years.

Below is the complete process to pay advance tax via several modes using the e-Pay tax feature on the government income tax portal.

Step 1: First of all, open the particular URL in the address bar of the browser and fill up login details.

Step 2: Now move the cursor on the e-file tab in the header menu and select the 3rd ‘e-pay tax’ option then click on the ‘New payment’ button.

Step 3: After then click on the link ‘Proceed’

Step 4: Now Proceed, select the particular Assessment Year and choose the type of payment you have made. Then click on continue.

Step 5: Now ‘Add Tax Break Up Details’ such as cess, interest, penalty, etc and then click continue.

Step 6: Now click on continue then five payment modes will be shown on your window screen such as debit cards, RTGS/ NEFT, pay-at-bank counters, net banking, and payment gateways that suit you.

Option 1: E-Payment via Net Banking

Step 1: Select one authorised bank option to pay taxes via net banking and click continue.

Step 2: After selecting the bank option, you can preview your tax details and then click on pay now.

Step 3: Next, the terms and condition popup window will open and you must be required to accept and click on the ‘submit to the bank’ option.

Step 4: After you will be redirected to the website of the selected bank where you have selected before.

Step 5: Finally submit the payment process with login details. If the payment is successful then you can download the challan receipt.

Option 2 – E-Payment Via Debit Card

Step 1: If you want to make a tax payment with a debit card. Select the debit card option and choose the bank name from the option then click continue and verify the payment.

Step 2: In the next step, you will be presented with a pop-up window describing the terms and conditions that you must be accepted and submit payment to the bank.

Step 3: The challan receipt can be downloaded after the payment has been successful.

Option 3 – E-Payment Via Pay at the Bank Counter

Step 1: If you want to make a payment via cheques, cash, and demand draft option, then select the Pay at bank counter option with the authorized bank and click continue.

Step 2: After then click on continue or Pay now, you can preview your tax details to make a payment and click to download the challan form.

Step 3: Within 15 days after completing the Challan Form, prepare the signed copy and present it to the authorised bank’s branch.

Option 4 – E-Payment Via NEFT/RTGS

Step 1: If you want to make a tax payment offline then select RTGS/NEFT option and click continue.

Note: The bank charges will be applicable as per the terms and conditions.

Step 2: After clicking on the continue button, the portal will show payment details to verify and click continue.

Step 3: You must submit a signed challan to the bank within 15 days for payment.

Option 5 – E-Payment Via Payment Gateway

Step 1: For remitting taxes, you can choose any bank’s gateway. Net banking, debit/credit cards, and UPI are all options for payment. Choose your suitable payment gateway and continue.

Step 2: After the click on ‘Pay now’ or ‘continue’, the taxpayer can see the details and then click ‘submit to bank’.

Step 3: After accepting the terms and conditions, you are directed to the bank’s payment gateway. Remit the taxes using the appropriate payment method.

Step 4: Finally after a successful tax payment, the taxpayer can download the challan receipt.

Steps to Create a Challan Pre-login Mode

Step 1: Open the e-filing portal in the address bar of the browser and click e-pay tax on the dashboard.

Step 2: After clicking on e-pay tax, fill PAN/TAN details and mobile number for OTP verification and click continue.

Step 3: Now enter the six-digit OTP and click continue.

Step 4: After the OTP verification, the client is able to select the related categories for tax payment.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Related articles